Dried Fruit Jam

I just discovered (of course, when I’m pressed for time and making hubby’s lunch) that we are just about out of jam. And when I say out, I mean we have about 2 Tablespoons left! So, today is jam making day. 1. I will make jam out of a spiced plum sauce I have in the pantry. I made this years ago and it’s a wonderful plum/clove sauce but I haven’t used it for anything else. I bet it would taste wonderful as jam! 2. I’ll be making this but with a mix of dried fruits. I have dried apricots, cherries, raspberries, strawberries, apples (might not use them all) plus about a cup of frozen blueberries. Whatcha think?

http://www.foodinjars.com/2012/02/dried-apricot-jam-from-250-home-preserving-favorites/

Update:  O.k.  Next time, I’ll leave out the vanilla (unless the flavor becomes more subdued as it cooks … the book’s suggestion of orange liquor or peach brandy would have been much better) and this became freezer jam (the fruit by itself was so sweet that I only added 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of Splenda, which may still be too sweet but it’s too late now).  The tartness of the cranberries is just enough to make your mouth water but everything else mellows it out … this tastes like fruit leather.  It’s going to be awesome!

Leave a Reply

